Love Lessons

Ann's Corner

September 16, 2016

(www.picturequotes.com)

Love Lessons

Learning about love and relationships again, as a single, elderly woman, in my late 60’s, after 25 years of marriage and 10 years of grief and being alone, is a complicated matter. Sometimes I just want my husband back.

I want life to be normal again. I miss the companionship. The sharing. Doing life together. I thought we would grow old together, but his life on this earth was done.

I’m not saying that life with him was completely perfect, or that life has not been interesting since he passed away. It certainly wasn’t and it certainly has. However, it has not been without its challenges.

I think I have learned things I would not have learned within the confines of my marriage. I went through a bout with cancer and several bouts with depression. I relocated. I began a new life on my…

View original post 723 more words

Advertisements

Mackenzie Hughes Wins RSM Classic At Sea Island, Georgia

The historic highlight reel will record that Mackenzie Hughes won his first PGA Tour title on Monday morning by draining an 18-foot par putt from the fringe, a clutch stroke that brought him the $1.08-million winner’s purse at the RSM Classic at Sea Island, Georgia.

But those who know Hughes will tell you it’s possible the most important moment of his career-changing weekend — one that earned him entry into The Masters and two-year membership on tour, among many other benefits — came in Saturday’s third round. Hughes, who shot an opening-round 61, had navigated the opening 46 holes of the tournament without making a bogey when he arrived at the Seaside course’s 11th hole. There, a wayward drive into a bunker and a questionable moment of decision-making gave him a triple-bogey 7.

Hughes’s lead had suddenly vanished. Given his history for youthful hot-headedness — and given this was just the fifth start of his rookie season on the PGA Tour — an immediate plummet down the leaderboard wouldn’t have come as a surprise.

The manner with which Hughes responded to the setback said a lot about why he became the first Canadian to win on tour since Nick Taylor in 2014. Instead of falling apart, Hughes birdied three of the next five holes to restore his lead and enter Sunday’s final round with a one-shot advantage. Instead of withering into also-ran status, he found himself in a five-man playoff from which he ultimately emerged as the victor.

Mackenzie Hughes stuns playoff competitors with putt from off the green, wins 1st PGA Tour title.

A Canadian has not won the Canadian Open since 1954! I will be watching Mackenzie at Oakville, Ont.’s Glen Abbey Golf Club July 24 – 30, 2017.

More Rail Transit Sooner in LA because of Measure M

ntbraymer

With Graphics

By Noel T. Braymer

Some good news from the November 8th election was the passage of Measure M in Los Angeles County. This measure will raise more money for transportation in the County and allow more projects to be built and to speed up construction of projects now long in the planning stage.This particularly includes rail transit projects. This means that over the next 40 years Los Angeles County’s 100 miles of rail transit will nearly double. Of the 3 rail transit projects now under construction, 2 will benefit from Measure M. On the Crenshaw/LAX rail line which is planned to open by 2019, Measure M will fund construction for a LAX transfer station with the airport people mover which will allow connections to the airport terminals. This project hadn’t been funded, but Measure M will allow construction to begin to finish the new station in time for…

View original post 1,277 more words

Family Tree – Book Review

All Romance Reads

family-tree

Family Tree by Susan Wiggs 

Format: eARC
Source: publisher via Edelweiss
Formats available: hardcover, ebook, large print, audiobook
Genres: contemporary romance, women’s fiction
Pages: 368
Published by William Morrow on August 9th 2016

BUY: Amazon

Blurb:

For readers of Kristin Hannah and Jodi Picoult comes a powerful, emotionally complex story of love, loss, the pain of the past—and the promise of the future.

Sometimes the greatest dream starts with the smallest element. A single cell, joining with another. And then dividing. And just like that, the world changes.

View original post 726 more words