Bird Feeding


L.T. Garvin

It was just a normal evening

at bird feeding time

everything going well

until the Velociraptors showed up

all glassy eyed, sharp-clawed and greedy.

Even the Bluejays scattered.

It took me by surprise,

dinosaur husbandry, anyone?

Mad bird misfits

running wildly about

gnashing those beak teeth.

They spotted my collie

who stared warily from the porch.

I wasn’t exactly sure

if they consumed birdseed

thinking maybe, they preferred

hapless blonde girls

with too many cats.

Oh, I had always bet

the Mockingbirds were the worst

but that was before

the backyard filled

with Velociraptors

prehistoric bad boys

unexpected crisis.

Would I live to warn the neighbors?

This might mean that next year’s

Rock of Legends cruise

is off…

that I would end up

a pile of bleached bones.

Would the cardinals return

to honor my memory

missing their black sunflower seeds?

As I was busy regretting

those things you regret

View original post 43 more words

Leave a Reply

